• Please log in to reply
Micro and Macro (The Early Game Strategy, Micro intensive)
No replies to this topic - Started By Yin, Jul 15 2018 09:10 AM

#1 Yin

Yin
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Pip
  • LocationNovosibirsk

Posted 15 July 2018 - 09:10 AM

Intro: 

I would consider myself relatively good at this game. This is mostly due to experience in other games similar to it (such as Dwarf Fortress). I decided that I should make a guide of sorts for newer players looking to either get better at the game by mimicking what someone experienced does or at least give them the information they need to get a grasp of things and develop their own strategies. 

I am not good at playing a lost game, I'm good at taking from a disadvantage but would rather put myself at an advantageous position in the first place. Ray doesn't see this as a game that you "beat" but you can easily prove him wrong... if you win. If you are at all familiar with what micro and macro play are, you should have no trouble understanding most of what I explain. If not listen to the next bits carefully so that you understand what you're getting yourself into. 

Micro

To put it in the simplest way, micro is the small stuff. Makes sense right? Micro is grabbing villagers to keep them out of trouble or moving resources to speed things up. Micro could also be handling individual mobs that your defenses cannot reach. 

Macro: 

Macro is the (overall) larger things that you have to constantly keep in check to keep things running smoothly. Buildings, jobs, assignments. 

The Strategy: